top of page

The Agricultural Communicators Network Announces Its 2022 Scholarship Winners

LaGrange, Georgia (AgPR) July 14, 2022 – Nurturing and investing in our youth is the goal of The Agricultural Communicators Network (ACN) scholarships, as well as internships, according to ACN Future Agricultural Communicators Committee Chair Megan Schilling of Successful Farming. "Through these opportunities the professional organization strives to recognize the very best students and support them in their endeavor to join our profession." Two outstanding students have been selected to receive the 2022 scholarships.

Rachel McGreal, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Rachel McGreal has been selected to receive the Dr. James Evans Scholarship. This $3,000 scholarship is in honor of Dr. James Evans who has had a tremendous impact on the establishment and growth of agricultural communications programs. As the recipient, McGreal is being recognized for her excellence in academics and leadership, and for exemplifying the dedication and commitment of the outstanding individual for whom this award is named. "Being awarded a scholarship that pays tribute to Dr. Evans is an absolute honor. The lasting impression he made on agricultural communications programs, especially at the University of Illinois, is celebrated frequently within the Illini ACT chapter. I strive to follow in Dr. Evans footsteps that paved a crucial path for agricultural communicators. Receiving this scholarship plays a key part in helping me achieve that." - Rachel McGreal "Rachel's career-related experiences demonstrate her commitment to agricultural communications. She brings an understanding of agriculture to all off-farm roles she serves, capitalizing on opportunities to make agriculture better understood by her audiences." - Owen Roberts, University of Illinois

Sydney Garrett, Kansas State University. Sydney Garrett is being awarded the Past Presidents' Scholarship in the amount of $1,500. This award recognizes her leadership, dedication, and hard work in the agriculture community. "I would like to say thank you to the Agricultural Communications Network for providing scholarship opportunities to students pursuing degrees in agricultural communications. These opportunities not only help financially, but also provide valuable networking skills to students as they enter the agricultural industry full-time. I'm grateful to be a recipient of the Past President's Scholarship and to progress in my career with like minded individuals passionate about helping others succeed." - Sydney Garrett "I believe Sydney is highly qualified and very deserving of an ACN scholarship. She not only is dedicated to her academic and professional development, but also has an exceptional personality and tremendous work ethic. This scholarship would allow her to complete her degree at Kansas State and become a meaningful contributor to agriculture." - Jason D. Ellis, Kansas State University Both scholarships are made possible through a grant from The Agricultural Communicators Network Professional Improvement Foundation. Established by the National Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow (ACT) in 1993 and adopted in 2004 by the American Agricultural Editors Associaiton, or AAEA, now The Agricultural Communicators Network, these scholarships are awarded to outstanding ACT members for their achievements in leadership, career-related experiences, academics and service.


NAA Sidebar Ads (1).png
WIA Summit 24 1080x1080 banner.jpg
Feeding the world in style.png
bottom of page