top of page

NCBA Announces Policy Committee Leaders

WASHINGTON | The National Cattlemen’s Beef Association (NCBA) announced the appointment of key cattle industry leaders to serve on the association’s policy committees. The policy committees review, discuss, and vote on policy resolutions brought forward by NCBA members. These grassroots policies guide NCBA’s advocacy efforts in Washington, D.C. “Policy committee leaders play a crucial role in directing NCBA’s advocacy efforts and addressing the issues facing the cattle industry,” said NCBA President-Elect Todd Wilkinson, a South Dakota cattle producer. “As a grassroots organization, we rely on volunteer leaders to step up and make their voices heard. I am proud of this new group of committee leaders and know they will serve NCBA and the entire cattle industry well.” The new committee leaders are: Agriculture and Food Policy Committee

  • Ken Herz, chair (Nebraska)

  • Jeff Schafer, vice chair (North Dakota)

Cattle Health and Well Being Committee

  • Dr. Tom Portillo, chair (Texas)

  • Barbara Jackson, vice chair (Arizona)

Federal Lands Committee

  • Jim Hellyer, chair (Wyoming)

  • Alisa Ogden, vice chair (New Mexico)

International Trade Committee

  • Jaclyn Wilson, chair (Nebraska)

  • Tony Toso, vice chair (California)

Live Cattle Marketing Committee

  • Troy Sander, chair (Oklahoma)

  • Mike Drinnin, vice chair (Nebraska)

Property Rights and Environmental Management Committee

  • Charlie Besher, chair (Missouri)

  • Barb Cooksley, vice chair (Nebraska)

Tax and Credit Committee

  • Dan Rorvig, chair (North Dakota)

  • Jeff Magee, vice chair (Mississippi)

Additionally, appointments were made to the NCBA-PAC Committee—the political arm of the association—and the Resolutions Committee, which provides technical review of policy resolutions moving through other committees. The NCBA-PAC Committee leaders will take office following the Cattle Industry Convention and NCBA Tradeshow in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Political Action Committee

  • Will Mayfield, chair (Tennessee)

  • Donnie Lawson, vice chair (Indiana)

Resolutions Committee

  • Linda Barnes, chair (Tennessee)

  • Margaret Ann Smith, vice chair (Virginia)

“Here in Washington, D.C., we take our marching orders from our grassroots members through the policy resolutions passed by these committees. Our grassroots policy process ensures that cattle producers of all size and in every region are represented in the halls of Congress, the White House, and federal agencies,” said NCBA Vice President of Government Affairs Ethan Lane. “Our team is excited to work with this next group of grassroots leaders as we tackle the issues in D.C. that impact cattle producers outside the beltway.” Policy committee leaders serve a two-year term expiring at the end of 2024. To learn more about NCBA’s grassroots policy process, visit


The National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) has represented America's cattle producers since 1898, preserving the heritage and strength of the industry through education and public policy. As the largest association of cattle producers, NCBA works to create new markets and increase demand for beef. Efforts are made possible through membership contributions. To join, contact NCBA at 1-866-BEEF-USA or

CONTACT: Hunter Ihrman, Steve Johnson,


NAA Sidebar Ads (1).png
FLy In NAA Ad.jpg
WIA Summit 24 1080x1080 banner.jpg
Feeding the world in style.png
bottom of page